Anthony Trollope

Anthony Trollope (April 24, 1815-December 6, 1882) was one of the most popular English novelists of the Victorian era. He wrote his first novel, The Macdermots of Ballycloran, and several other novels while still working as a postal clerk. He was best known for the series, Chronicles of Barsetshire, a set of six books about the fictional Barsetshire County. Trollope kept a strict quota for himself, mandating how much he needed to write daily. As a result, he produced an incredible amount of literature: 47 novels, over 12 short stories, 18 works of nonfiction, and 2 plays, as well as several journal articles. Trollope was still working on his last novel, The Landleaguers, when he died in 1882.