Spanish Inquisition

The Tribunal of the Holy Office of the Inquisition was formed to help maintain and clarify Catholic orthodoxy through Spain and all of its colonies. Ferdinand II of Aragon and Isebella I of Castile were Spanish monarchs that reenforced the importance of the catholic faith with their reign. They established the Spanish Inquisition in 1480, and it was abolished in 1834.